“Why do you do what you do?”

This is the question that was posed in an essay that someone posted on my Facebook wall. It was from an article NPR called The Writing Assignment That Changes Lives. “Why do you do what you do? What is the engine that keeps you up late at night or gets you going in the morning? Where is your happy place? What stands between you and your ultimate dream?  The article was used to serve as a jumping off point for students. Proving what many people know, writing can serve many purposes and make a difference in the direction of lives.

I have mulled these over. I am at a crossroads of sorts in my life that I didn’t expect. Having to move from a place i was just finally settling into as home base. It has all been upended. So I want to be able to answer these questions. i need to think more on this actually but for initial thoughts:

Why do you do what you do? I have worked in sales, same company and position for almost 16 years. I do it because I was at a crossroads when the job was offered. It looked likely I would be single parenting or mainly responsible for myself and my children. it is a good job in that way, financially and benefits. But it is not always easy and has required me being away from home more than I would have liked, especially with my children at home. It did provide many opportunities my children and I wouldn’t have had otherwise. It is selling a product that does help people and make a difference in their lives but i took it to be able to take care of my children.

What is the engine that keeps you up late at night or gets you going in the morning? I don’t have a good answer for this. I am staying up late right now writing! Often that is why I am up late, taking care of things i put off during the day, procrastinated.

Where is your happy place?  This one is tricky too as I don’t feel like I have an actual place but my camper, when i am out on a glamping trip and can be hanging out in PJs and just chilling there listening to music or reading, that would be a happy place. But the ultimate happy place for me is when I can spend time with my college age children because i don’t see them everyday and I wish it wasn’t so hard.

What stands between you and your ultimate dreamMy ultimate dream would be writing for a living. What stands between me and that dream is, well me. And lack of income and support if I was to just write! It is important to remember though, that whatever is your dream or my dream, we keep at it. A painter paints, a singer sings and a writer writes. Maybe one day it will go somewhere larger than this blog but I don’t have an option to not write.

Why do I do what I do? for now it is to support my family and get my children on their way to college, provide a stable life for them till they are on their own and one for me so I am not their burden. But it also provides me opportunity to do what I have to which is write. something anything as often as possible!

4 thoughts on ““Why do you do what you do?”

  1. Have you read “On Writing” by Stephen King? He wrote in the laundry room at his home after teaching all day. Keep on writing, because writer’s write. Always.

    1. Thanks Lisa! I haven’t read it. I should check out. Janet Evanovich has a good book too I liked. And my favorite is Bird By Bird by Anne Lamott

      1. You’re welcome, Molly! I liked Bird by Bird, but King really wrote a masterful book — it flows so easily and he just lays it out for you in black and white. It takes time to read, because I wound up pacing the floor, chewing on what he said, while reading it over and over.

Leave a Reply

